I’ve got all my sisters with me | Business + Personal

If you had told me back in high school that I would one day be a “sorority girl”, I probably would have laughed in your face. I am by no means a girly girl and not one to hang with a bunch of girls and do group bathroom trips. I like hanging with the guys. I even had 5 guy roommates at one time in college. I would say they were less drama, but that wasn’t always true. For me, it was just easier with guys.
But as fate would have it, I did join a wonderful sorority. Actually, Pi Beta Phi is considered a women’s fraternity. Since it was the first of its kind, there was no such thing as a sorority then. I met my sorority “big sister” my freshman year and my second semester I went out for formal recruitment to see what it was all about. A friend I had danced with in high school was there and had joined just the semester before. I feel in love with some of the women and more importantly what Pi Phi believed in and represented. Their main philanthropy was literacy, something that I felt was important. They did a lot on campus and I enjoyed the involvement. It was definitely one of the best decisions I made in college (second only to deciding to go out with my future husband 🙂 )!
I never would have imagined the benefits Pi Phi would be still giving me after college. Of course they tell you all the wonders of alumni networking and such when you are a collegiate, but you don’t really think that way when you are in college. You kind of think in the here and now.
Although, I’m not actively involved in my chapter or alumni club currently, I have a wonderful network and circle of sisters. We have been a part of each others’ weddings, either as guests or actually in the wedding. Every one of my attendants were Pi Phis. We have seen our families grow and been at birthday parties, showers and more! I love getting together with my sisters/friends for play dates. We have even seen each other become entrepreneurs in our own business ventures.
This has been one of my favorite parts of being a Pi Phi alumni. My Pi Phi sister Kristi and I have really built up a beautiful network. Last year after I started my photography business, Kristi contacted me to take photos of her beautiful hand-made jewelry (check out The Funky Tangerine). Even all of her models for the shoot were Pi Phis!! We have both supported each other and plugged each others businesses whenever possible. I have even put Kristi in contact with another photographer friend who was spotlighting Esty businesses. That is how supportive we are of each other (and also in my photographer network). Pay it forward!!
Just last week, I signed up for a styled shoot that will be hosted by Debbie Laughlin Photography and Jennifer Krieg Photography. I shared the link on my business Facebook page and Kristi saw it. She noticed they did not have a jewelry vendor and asked me if this might be something they would want/need. I put her in touch with Debbie and BAM! it was a done deal! I am so excited for Kristi and so excited for her to get this exposure. I can’t wait to see what she will come up with.
I just love our network. I have sisters who do advertising, jewelry, fitness, graphic design, teach and countless other jobs.  I have even had the pleasure of photographing several of my sisters and their families!!  My sorority little sister, Joanna, is getting married in November and I get to photograph her wedding! I am thrilled!!!! She is still one of my closest friends and my son’s godmother! He even gets to be in her wedding too!

I just never imagined I would still be benefitting from that one decision to join such an amazing organization. Some people say that a sorority is paying for you friends. Well, I feel like I got a great deal, because the ones I got are priceless!!! 🙂

Some photos of me and my sisters at my wedding.

My bridesmaids!!

sunglasses4

Pi Phis at my wedding!

pi phi pic
The beautiful Pi Phi models at The Funky Tangerine jewelry shoot. All of them are modeling jewelry made by Kristi.

The Funky Tangerine-178
My beautiful and talented friend Kristi at her jewelry shoot! She now has that sweet little girl that was in her belly then, in her arms.

The Funky Tangerine-280

My sister Julie and her family. I got to photograph their family as they anticipated the arrival of their second baby and at Christmas when little Wyatt was just a few weeks old!

Jones Family-6

Jones Family Christmas minis-31

My sorority sister Breauna (who I never met in college, but was thankful that Kristi recommended me to her)! I had the best time photographing her beautiful family this past fall!

Zimmerman Family-9

My sister Jenn and her beautiful family.  I am so thankful that we have been a part of each others weddings and kids’ lives!

Devlin Family Christmas minis-27

Steven and his Auntie Joanna. She is also his godmother. I cannot wait for us to both be a part of her big day!!!

????????
IMG_5389

2 thoughts on “I’ve got all my sisters with me | Business + Personal

  1. What a beautiful piece, Dana! I too, think to myself that joining Pi Beta Phi was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I can truly say that the decision to become a Pi Phi has enriched my life in so many ways and I am thankful to have become YOUR “sister.” I am so proud of you and where you are taking your business and am thankful for your support. Keep on rocking, girlfriend!

    • Thank you so much Kristi! I love networking with you and I’m so glad we are Pi Phi sisters! I cannot wait see your beautiful work at the styled shoot and to photograph it! You are doing awesome things!

Leave a Reply

