My word for 2014: Mike | Personal

So I hadn’t ever dedicated a year to one word before or even heard of this concept. I saw it floating around Facebook (of course) with people using lots of inspirational words they were going to live their lives for in 2014. I tossed around a few in my head, but couldn’t seem to find one that resonated with me.
Then my husband’s cousin wrote a blog post about how she was going to dedicate her year to her husband. Mike’s cousin, Sarah Mae, is a beautiful writer and an inspiration to me as a mother. After reading her blog post about her dedicating her year to her husband I knew what my word was.

Mike.

It has been on my heart for awhile that I don’t make him enough of a priority in my life. I am a passionate person and don’t do much less than 100%. I am dedicated to being a stay-at-home mom, a Christian, a photographer and dance instructor. I try to keep our house clean, bills paid and supper on the table every night. There is no doubt that my love language is service!
But, what about Mike??
I know he knows I love him. He knows I do what I do for him and Steven. But what about his love language? His, like many men probably, is physical touch, something I am horrible at. I always have been. My mom said it was like trying to hold on to a slippery squid trying to hold me or hug me as a little kid. I just had to go and do and be busy. I still do. I feel like I am slacking off if I am just sitting still. There is something I should be probably doing other than just sitting here.

I need to slow down and take in the moments. I’m going to try to hug him and kiss him more and try to find myself attractive for him.  Try to look at him the way I did when we weren’t married and all I could think about was marrying him!
Mike is good at that. He is definitely the stop and smell the roses kind of guy.  He works so hard for us.  He is a firefighter and on his days off, he works for my parents.  He is hands down, an amazing father and husband! He definitely keeps me grounded and never complains about working so hard.  I know there are plenty of things he would like to do for himself, but he would rather spend his time with us.

That is why 2014 is going to be his year. I am going to rededicate myself to him as his wife. I will try to make him feel wanted and needed and loved without a doubt. Like Sarah Mae said in her blog, I will fail sometimes. There is no doubt. Not always, but it will happen! This is out of my comfort zone. Loving him isn’t of course, but slowing down is.
I need to step away from the computer and phone and even from Steven some. That will be the hardest. I am terrible about going out on date nights, although I’ve gotten better, because I hate spending time away from him. But I have to remind myself that I’m doing it also for him. Besides, if it wasn’t for the love between his mommy and daddy, he wouldn’t be here!! I have to remind myself that our healthy marriage is the best gift I can give him. That it will model for him the kind of husband he should be and the kind of wife he should look for.
So Mike, 2014 is your year. I can’t wait to see where we are this time next year. I know it won’t be all easy, but I know it will be amazing! I love you babe!

When we first started dating, over 10 years ago!!

dana and mike

Our wedding

wedding

Our 1 year anniversary (taken by Mike’s uncle Gary).

IMG_1624[1]

Our first family photo!

????????

Photo from our first family photo session (taken by Candice Strickland).

E-2441544589-O

Our recent family photos (photo taken by Debbie Laughlin Photography).

View More: http://debbielaughlinphotography.pass.us/zebrowski-session

10 thoughts on “My word for 2014: Mike | Personal

    • Thank you Sarah Mae for your post and inspiring me! Both your posts on Jesse have spoke right to my heart. It was like you were reading my mind! Thank you for them and for your support! Cheering you on as well!

  1. I LOVE LOVE this!! I was encouraged at the end of the year to pick my word!! It is truly an awesome thing and keeps you grounded to your mission! I am keeping mine a secret for just a bit longer because it is SO personal to me and I have not found the words in my heart yet to write it and throw it out for all to see! XO

Leave a Reply

